Accused

p. 15 “Whoever said you can’t go home again wasn’t Italian.”  and  “They still drank perked coffee, from a dented coffee pot, always brewing on the stove…”

p. 16 “Her father could see fine with his trifocals, but he was almost deaf…”

 I admit it. I am a sucker to read anything remotely related to Italy or Italian-Americans during any time period in any geographical location. Despite my inital negative reaction to the paperback cover of a hip woman with flowing blonde hair – not like too many Pennsylvania Italians I knew – it was recommended by a colleague who loves a good mystery – Accused (Rosato & Associates Series).

Moreover, it is set in Philadelphia, evoking more childhood memories of la famiglia’s monthly drives in our dark blue Mercury Meteor, stick shift on the column, along Rt. 309 for visits with my older sister during the 1960’s. My middle sister and I sat in the back eating a barbecued chicken and rye bread brought at the Quakertown Farmer’s Market during the drive, in order to mostly keep us quiet so my parents could finally have an uninterrupted conversation.  If we fell asleep, it was an added bonus for them!

 

But, back to the book at hand – I love it.  For me. plot line stretches believability, but who cares? The characters are believable – colleagues, relatives, Philly neighbors (although the boyfriend may be a bit too understanding!). Immersed in this, I do “go home again.”  Film fans of the movie Moonstruck will thoroughly appreciate it.

Scottoline, Lisa.  Accused.  New York: St. Martin’s Griffin, 2013. Print.
Your thoughts are important, too.

