The Deadly Slipper: a novel of death in the Dordogne

p. 13 “The eyes gazed out at the world with a challenging, quizzical stare. Find me, they seemed to say.”

There are some wonderful bonuses to having the summer to oneself even if the “self”, to whom I am referring, does not like summer!  One is the ability to have energy in the evening, thus the ability to meet with dear friends informally and discuss books – not really a book club, but rather a book share. Despite the typical urban, Maryland “crappy” *weather – humid, mosquito laden – a small group of us with incredibly diverse reading tastes, were able to meet indoors temperature controlled, cats only – and talk books (for the most part).food

So, at this point, I will list of few titles that were recommended to me (which I happened to write down with pen and paper; not my app, Pat!), and those shared with others by me.  I hope you find a title or two for yourself, and would love it if you could comment by adding a title or two of yours.

      A sampling  of titles shared by

TPMBS

On a lighter note, I was informed of the most recent Jacqueline Winspear mystery, which had gone unnoticed by me! A Dangerous Place (Where have I been?)


My contribution was a reference to titles from this blog, for the most part.  Although I did mention (just a last-minute hint) to the title in the post – for some lighter fare with mystery reading. It was the subtitle that caught my eye, when browsing. How could I turn away from a mystery entwined with rare flowers and a setting in the Dordogne?

Twenty years later, Mara returns to the question surrounding the disappearance of here sister, an environmentalist and orchid lover, while hiking through the Dordogne. Enlisting the reluctant help of a local botanist, she begins to piece together more than this personal and unfortunate incident.

Wan, Michelle.  Deadly Slipper: a novel of death in the Dordogne.  New York: Vintage Crime/Black Lizard Edition, 2006. Print.

*A tangential discussion of the generational change in definition of this word ensued, at one point; here, it equates with “lousy.”

Your thoughts are important, too.

